Owl in coloured pencil

Lately,  I have been drawing with coloured pencil and with the popularity of adult colouring books, the medium is everywhere!  Very exciting.

I started using them while pregnant to minimize my risk to toxic solvents.  I like how easy they are to travel with: no water or brushes needed, no drying time and just a pencil sharpener required.

The owl drawing was completed with Derwent Coloursoft (36).  I will always remember when I bought them at a local art store.   Being a coloured pencil newbie, I asked an employee, “How many do you think I need to start.”  The employee gave a small knowing smile and said, “With art supplies, it is never a matter of need, but of want.”
How very true!  And after working with the medium, I  want more. 

Leave a Reply

