Crossroads in the Autumn

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I love working with coloured pencils.  I love the rich colours.  I love that there are no odours as I am very sensitive to them and get headaches from them.  And above all,  I love not having to clean brushes.  I hate cleaning brushes.

Last fall, I took a bunch of photographs and decided to start some illustrations.

Here is my reference photo:

20161020_094729

“Crossroads in the Autumn” reference photo.

I drew an outline of the photo (freehand) and began working on the sky.  I outlined the illustration using a size 05 brown Micron pen and then used Derwent Coloursoft (tin of 26) for the rest of the project.

20170131_220309

Outlined with the Micron pen and starting in with the coloured pencil.

Towards the end, I began to run out of tooth on the paper.  The pencil, kicked and screamed, threw a huge tantrum and refused to lay down on the paper!  Fortunately, I had recently watched a Lahri Fine Art video on YouTube and Lisa Clough (“the artist behind Lachri Fine Art) used a texture fixative to “add more tooth” to the paper.

I remembered that I had bought a fixative a long time ago when I first started to dabble with pastels.  I grabbed it from the back of a shelf. Sure enough it was a workable fixative and just what I needed.  I tested it out and was amazed how much more life it gave to the paper.  I was worried that it would ruin the paper, or alter the colours or streak or clump or otherwise ruin the illustration; it didn’t.  It is my new favorite art supply.

20170206_095510

I love when I find uses for long lost items in my stash.  Hip Hip Hurray for hoarding.

watermarked crosswalk.png

Leave a Reply

