Re-vamped owl

The picture below is a coloured pencil drawing I completed in 2016.  I was very happy with the drawing at the time, but as I worked more and more with coloured pencil, I began to notice that I wasn’t getting the saturation and deep contrasts that I wanted.

It may be due to the type of coloured pencil I am using;  I have only worked with the Derwent Coloursoft. In retrospect, it is more likely that I am laying the black down over too many layers and thus not getting it as dark as I would like.

2016-12-09-12.56.28.png.png

I sprayed some workable fixative on the paper and tried to darken the blacks.  It helped a little bit, but didn’t make as drastic a difference as I had hoped.  I then decided to experiment with markers and oil pastels on top of the coloured pencil.  The result is below.

Owl 2

I am much more happy with the results (for now anyways).  I may go back once more and clean up the background and some of the feather details.

Which one do you like better?  The softer, muted tones of the first picture, or the more vibrant colours of the second picture?

Materials used:

  • Strathmore Mixed Media paper
  • Derwent coloursoft coloured pencils
  • Grumbacher Oil Pastels
  • Prismacolour Premier Brush tip marker – black
  • Spectrafix Degas Pastel Fixative (not over the marker; because it will cause the marker to bleed very, very, very badly.  I am glad I did a text spray on scrap paper before spraying the final piece.  It would have been a streaky, blurry mess.)

 

Leave a Reply

