Aspen: Rework of an old Favorite

Yesterday, I published a post showing some old sketches of mine.  Amongst them was this pretty little watercolour of a poplar (aspen) tree.  I decided to redo the painting with oil pastels, just for fun.

I am fairly new to pastels and am still trying to work out the glitches.  I would like to master making a seamless background, but all in all, I am really happy with how the painting (drawing? I’m never sure which a pastel piece is) turned out.

Below is the oil pastel artwork made with:

  • Grumbacher oil pastels (set of 36)
  • Canson Bristol paper
  • Derwent Coloursoft coloured pencils

IMG.jpg

Below is the watercolour from 2008.

IMG

Only, one month to go until my art show.  Ever year, the small town (Hamlet) I live in hosts one or two art shows and this year I am so excited to be showcasing my work.  I have been busy making artwork, as well as matting and framing and trying to figure out how to price and sell my pieces.  Making the art seems to be the easy (and fun) part.  They rest is a lot of hard work.  I have a new found respect for professional artists, who do this kind of thing all the time.

Leave a Reply

